Upcoming Releases: Sister Souljah & Morrison

Finished Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns and loved it. Every time I had a free minute, I couldn’t fight the urge to find out what happened next. One night I fought sleep to see how things would end for the characters. I wasn’t disappointed. Unfortunately, my current read, Amy Tan’s The Bonesetter’s Daughter . . . eh, not so good. But later on that.

Speaking of good, Goodreads sent me an email with an update on authors from my shelf. Toni Morrison and Sister Souljah were two of the surprises listed. I’ll admit that I don’t read Morrison for pleasure–only for academic pursuits (though I don’t discount her skill and would definitely name 2 titles as favorites). Even Sister Souljah’s Coldest Winter was once a favorite. Years later, I read Midnight and wasn’t as impressed (although I did finish it). Needless to say, I didn’t read the follow-up. However, her upcoming release may spark my interest. Read more on Toni Morrison’s Desdemona and Sister Souljah’s A Deeper Love Inside below:

The story of Desdemona from William Shakespeare’s Othello is reimagined by Nobel Prize laureate Toni Morrison, Malian singer and songwriter Rokia Traoré, and acclaimed stage director Peter Sellars. Morrison’s response to Sellars’ 2009 production of Othello is an intimate dialogue of words and music between Desdemona and her African nurse Barbary. Morrison gives voice and depth to the female characters, letting them speak and sing in the fullness of their hearts. Desdemona is an extraordinary narrative of words, music and song about Shakespeare’s doomed heroine, who speaks from the grave about the traumas of race, class, gender, war—and the transformative power of love. Toni Morrison transports one of the most iconic, central, and disturbing treatments of race in Western culture into the new realities and potential outcomes facing a rising generation of the twenty-first century.

Cold, raw, and filled with adventure and emotional intensity, A Deeper Love Inside tells an unforgettable coming-of-age story in the words of Porsche Santiaga, Winter’s younger sister. Sharp-tongued, quick-witted Porsche worships her sister Winter. Cut from the same cloth as her father, Ricky, Porsche is also a natural born hustler. Passionate and loyal to the extreme, she refuses to accept her new life in group homes, foster care, and juvenile detention after her family is torn apart. Porsche—unique, young, and beautiful—will do whatever it takes to reclaim her status and return to her wealthy, loving family. In A Deeper Love Inside, readers will encounter their favorite characters from The Coldest Winter Ever, including Winter and Midnight. Souljah’s voice will again move your heart and soul and open your eyes to a shocking reality.

Back to reading, y’all!

4 thoughts on “Upcoming Releases: Sister Souljah & Morrison

  1. Toni Morrison is a challenge for me.But in order to grow as a reader one must be challenged. I liked The Bluest Eye, Sula, The Song of Solomon. And I even got through Tar Baby. Couldn’t do Beloved. had to watch the film to undrstand that one. That book was very frustrating for me. I remember throwing it against the wall. I will give her another try. I read The Coldest Winter years ago. However I don’t think I could do this Sister Soulja stuff today, seeing how i’m older and at a different place in my life.

  2. Like I mentioned, I have a few favorite books by Morrison: Beloved, Bluest Eye, and Tar Baby. But I’m not going around recommending Toni Morrison books to the average reader. She’s an excellent writer, but her work is more for research/academic pursuits. Your mind needs to be in the right place when you read Morrison. Whereas, anybody can read Sister Souljah and even she gets deep, but not Toni Morrison deep.

  3. Wow…Desdemona sounds amazing! It was frustrating how underrated her role as a character in Othello was, and I am excited to see what Toni Morrison does with her. It will also be interested to witness the expansion of the role of non-white characters in the text…I can’t wait! I wonder why Goodreads didn’t send me that email….

Leave a Reply

