BGLB Says Goodbye to the Old

 Black Girl Lost . . . in a Book began May 4, 2007. I borrowed the title for the blog from a rap song by Nas that I happened to like. But instead of being the black girl lost in the world that he rhymes about, I thought maybe it better to be lost in a book. Before the blog, I’d created a handwritten journal for all the classics that I attempted to catch up on in preparation for graduate school. At the suggestion of a friend, I decided to transfer some of those journal ideas and reviews to a blog. Some of my initial posts were on The Secret Life of Bees, Black Boy, and The Known World, to name a few.

Through the years, I’ve accomplished more goals than I can name and this blog has remained. On occasion, I get disillusioned with black book news and releases. It’s hella hard to find us on the web. There are even times when my interest in television overcomes my passion for books. You don’t always have to read a book to become wrapped up in a good story. I’m sure we can all attest to that, right? From time to time my blog posts have lagged, but unlike a few blogs I use to follow, Black Girl Lost … in a Book remains. I still write about the same things and my new work/travel schedule allows me to return to my former reading habits. I’m proud to say that I’ve completed 6 books in the past 2 months. That’s a big deal for me. For sometime I had reduced my reading to a book a month, if that. But my interest and research in black books never faltered.

So, if you’re thinking that this is the final post for BGLB, you’re wrong. I wrote all that to say that I’m still here and I’ve decided that after 6 years it’s probably a good time to change the look of this blog. If you run into any old posts and you can’t read the text, well, it’s probably because this blog use to have a black background. I tried to edit as much as I could, but I hope that you’ll still find things that interest you here. Stick around. Like me  or share one of my posts on FB. Leave me a comment from time to time. I don’t make any money on this site (I’m ashamed to say). I thrive on love. I do all this stuff by my lonesome. No help.

And in the meantime, let me get back to my book—after all, that asshole Percy just squashed Mr. Jingles in The Green Mile. I’ve seen the movie before and I’m still curious about what these characters will do next.

Happy reading, y’all.

4 thoughts on “BGLB Says Goodbye to the Old

  1. Hey Naysue, I never listened to any of Nas’s music but i kind of liked that. I am a Stephen King fan. In fact in junior high school, I was into Edgar Allen Poe and then my love for the genre of horror grew. Then i discovered Stephen King. I think my first Stephen King book was Salem’s Lot. And i became a die hard fan. I’ve since discovered African American writers who write in this genre. Tanarive Due, Brandon Massey and the late L.A. Banks are my favorites.

    Like

  2. Hi Naysue! WHEW…when I saw the title of your blog, I immediately panicked, thinking you were saying farewell to us :). Thank you for your in-depth reviews, and I dig the new layout.

    Like

  3. @mary – I’m enjoying Green Mile so much that I’m very tempted to read another Stephen King novel soon after, but I’m not sure who. I’m also a fan of Tananarive Due, but have only read short works/excerpts by Massey and Banks. I should also mention that I do own books by all of the authors mentioned.

    @bunniecakes – Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

