Shay Youngblood: Reads & Recommends

shayyoungbloodI recently contacted a few authors that I’m fond of to pose three simple questions. A couple had their assistants reply back that they were too busy for such nonsense, but I’m appreciative to the authors who took a pause for little people like me. Shay Youngblood is one such author. So, if you’re looking for books to add to this year’s TBR or 100 Book Challenge, maybe you’ll consider her suggestions.

SY’s 2012 Memorable Reads: Happily writing and digitizing my out of print books for the last few months has made it challenging for me to engage in reading orgies with wild abandon, but in 2012 my most memorable reads were Dear Life: Stories by Alice Munro, The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson and many books on the subject of Japanese architecture (which features in my next book).

dearlifemunro  warmthofothersuns dreaminginfrench

smittenkitchen thebigseahughes theireyeswerewatching

SY’s 2013 Reading List: Dreaming in French: The Paris Years of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy, Susan Sontag and Angela Davis by Alice Yaeger Kaplan and The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook by Deb Perelman.

SY’s Overall Recommendations: Every year I re-read The Big Sea by Langston Hughes, Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston, Toni Morrison and a few paragraphs of Faulkner to remind me of the power and grace of language and why I write my own stories.

And speaking of Shay Youngblood, her book Big Mama Stories turns 25 this year. In celebration of this occasion, the book is available on Amazon Kindle for free until January 6th. Enjoy and happy reading, y’all!

7 thoughts on “Shay Youngblood: Reads & Recommends

  1. Nice post! It’s too bad the other authors didn’t take time to write you back. You’ve help me discover another writer I hadn’t heard of before. 2013 is really starting with a big literary bang for me because I’ve already discovered 3 new writers and it’s only the 5th of January. Thanks for the suggestions! Happy New Year!

    • Yeah, some writers had their assistants send me a long email about how/why they were busy. I doubt it even got to the author, but the questions were so simple that it would have taken no time to reply. What were your favorite reads/book recommendations for 2012? What do you plan to read in 2013? What do you recommend overall? Simple questions. Too busy for that? Really? Maybe my blog isn’t big time enough. Who knows. I’m not bitter. I understand. People have stuff to do. :-)

      • I say no worries keep trying and look you got Shay Youngblood to answer. Now you’ve introduced her to all of your subscribers. I didn’t know her and now I’m going to try to find out more about her.

    • You know, I have to re-read Their Eyes Were Watching God. I read it in high school and don’t believe my comprehension levels, literary knowledge, or life experiences were what they are now–obviously. I really enjoyed Warmth of Other Suns too, although it took me awhile to read. Still a great book. I finished The Cutting Season. Great writing and great story, but not so great murder mystery–if that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

