Brandon Massey: Reads and Recommends

brandonmasseyI recently contacted horror/thriller writer Brandon Massey to find out what was on his reading list for 2012 and what he plans to read in 2013. As mentioned previously, while a few authors were too busy to reply, Massey took a moment out of his writing schedule to share with us these recommendations.

Favorite books/recommendations of 2012: The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey by Walter Mosley.  Hands down, my favorite book of the year.  The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  A great read also that everyone needs to pick up.

  Henrietta Lacks  cagedbirdsings 

nativeson 11_23_63  impeachmentofabraham

Reading list for 2013 (or in general):  I try to read a good mix of contemporary works and classic fiction, so I’ll be continuing that approach for 2013. Some classics I intend to pick up: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou, and Native Son by Richard Wright.  As far as modern work, I’m looking forward to reading a recent Stephen King novel, 11/22/63, and The Impeachment of Abraham Lincoln by Stephen L. Carter.

dominofalls
Overall recommended book(s) or author(s): Walter Mosley has been my favorite author for years, so I’ve been recommending his work for some time now. He has a new Easy Rawlins novel coming out in 2013 that I’m sure will be great.  I also love reading Steven Barnes; he and Tananarive Due (another top author of mine) have a new book called Domino Falls that will be published soon.

After reading The Green Mile by Stephen King and enjoying the writing so thoroughly, I’ve been eyeing 11/22/63 myself. It’s a “big book” though. Anyway, be sure to pick up one of these reads/recommendations–or better yet, enjoy something from the Brandon Massey collection.

Happy reading, y’all!

7 thoughts on “Brandon Massey: Reads and Recommends

  1. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings and Native son are great. They are real solid classics. However, guilty as charged Walter Mosley I haven’t read. He’s one of my mother’s favorite writers. I must check him out. Where should I start?

    Like

Leave a Reply

