Catching Fire: The Blacks

BeeteeCF

Protests broke out across the web when casting decisions for the first Hunger Games film were announced (view my Hunger Games: The Blacks post). People didn’t want to believe that blacks could possibly exist for the film adaptation, let alone  in the bestselling novel. Well, I wonder how certain folks will feel about the non-white faces that plan to grace their screens for Catching Fire. According to a post from Shadow and Act, take a look at the browner side of things for this November 22nd release:

  

  

Two of the women that I traveled with to India completed Catching Fire during our trip. They kept suggesting that I read it, and while it’s on my list, I don’t know if I’m ready to pick it up yet. Unlike them, I read the book AND saw  the movie. I was impressed with both, but I just haven’t gotten around to reading the other 2 titles in the series. Who knows, maybe I’ll read them next.

Happy reading, y’all.

5 thoughts on “Catching Fire: The Blacks

  1. I read the Hunger Games thought it was excellent. Didn’t see the film. I was angry when I heard about all the horrible things the young actress that played Rue all the vitriol spew in the social media that was just insane. Racisim is not dead. We don’t live in a post racial society. If they were being so stupid last time, I can image how crazy they are going to be this time.

  2. Pingback: Catching Fire: The Blacks | booksandbackstreetboys

Leave a Reply

