Reading Smut: Confessions of a Video Vixen

Yeah. So I told ya’ll don’t doubt me about finishing Obama’s book. Too many of you did. The negative energy was so overwhelming that I was forced into stalemate. Yes, I’m still on the same page. Can I still say that I’ll have it finished by Wednesday? The goal is actually to complete three books before Sunday. Possible? Definitely. Obama is holding me up though. Once his book is out of the way I’ll be back on my usual roll.

If you really want to know, the real issue is that VONA, The Artist’s Way, and Plot & Structure have inspired me to write again. I’d been in a slump for sometime, but I’m back. Every morning I pull my laptop into bed or sit at my desk and just type. My goal is usually 1,000 words, but I happily end up with more. The Artist’s Way actually suggestions that you wake up every morning and write three pages in a journal. The writing should be any random thoughts you’re having. Over time, it’s supposed to unblock your creative spirit, but I just don’t believe that you need 12 weeks to accomplish this goal. Now, I do recognize that the author said that it may take a shorter amount of time for you to have a breakthrough. But after reading several Amazon reviews–you know me–I decided to wake up every morning and focus on fiction writing instead.

But you’re here to hear me talk about books, right?

Well, have you read Confessions of a Video Vixen by Karrine Steffans? I know, I know…we’re all fiction/literature snobs around here and would never read such smut, right? I did. Even discussed it with friends and passed it on to a family member.

Interesting enough, Steffans is releasing a new book. Upon hearing this I couldn’t help but wonder what else could she possibly write about. One comment on another website stated, “Are [dudes] still [sleeping with] this chick or is this gonna be fiction?” Good question.

Surprisingly, MTV featured one of the better articles on this book release. Here’s a portion:

Well, just when your favorite rapper or singer might have thought it was safe, Steffans is back to double up with a second book, “The Vixen Diaries.” According to her website, she gives a picture of her life from when her first book was released all the way to last month. The book is set to be released September 25.

Although Steffans has not named exactly who she puts on blast in the book, in the upcoming issue of King magazine — which hits stands July 17 — she claims to have had a couple of new affairs with some high-powered performers and isn’t shy about disclosing some intimate details.

First, she talks about sexual encounters with Lil Wayne and even says Weezy told her about his relationship with Trina in the wake of their breakup and recent onstage appearances together in Miami. “He said he’s not back with her,” Steffans told King. “Wayne don’t claim nothing. The thing is this, what I know about Wayne is, he told me he loved her and that he was good to her.”

Read the full article.
Read an interview.

Overall, you have to give Steffans credit. Her book was one of the top-selling books purchased by African-Americans for 2006 (on AALBC’s website anyway). Steffans book was also better (writing included) than a similar release by the mother of Nas’ seed, Carmen Bryant. I will admit that I did not read Bryant’s book, but upon skimming an excerpt (not the Amazon one), I decided to pass. Read an excerpt and check the Amazon reviews.

2 thoughts on “Reading Smut: Confessions of a Video Vixen

  1. Good question. This year I have yet to read even one book which I would consider smut. See the list to the right. Now I have recommended a few books to Angela (Blog Roll – Through My Eyes) which she said read like Jerry Springer episodes, but I would still not consider these books to be smut. Nor did I read any of those books as of recent. I’ve read 95% real literature this year. Honest.

    Smut keeps us well-rounded, wouldn’t you agree?

    Like

Leave a Reply

