That’s NOT Zora Neale Hurston

Standing in the bookstore yesterday, I found myself flipping through Wrapped in Rainbows: The Life of Zora Neale Hurston by Valerie Boyd. We’ve been transcribing letters in my graduate research class so I was curious as to whether this book would feature any written correspondences. While flipping through the photo section, the caption next to the photo on the left stated that this woman is often misidentified as Zora Neale Hurston. I laughed to myself, thinking how this picture actually looks different from Hurston’s other photos. I always figured she happened to be in a really good mood for this photo and decided to show more teeth or something. The really interesting thing is, this photo has been used for posters, book covers, and various other items. Nobody even knows who this woman really is–if not Zora Neale Hurston.

Leave a Reply

