Make It Super Simple with G. Garvin

My big sis informed me today that G. Garvin just released a new cookbook. I’m a big fan of Garvin’s previous book and use it semi-regularly for my boyfriend. My sister and I even make it our business to cook a few recipes when I visit during the holidays and such. Between her and my boyfriend we’ve made the crab cakes, french toast, bow tie pasta and chicken, and we’ve even “shocked” a few vegetables. The list goes on I’m sure.

This Valentine’s day I plan on making my boyfriend a “gourmet” meal right from G. Garvin’s pages. Garvin’s ingredients can get a little expensive (that’s reason enough to call it gourmet in my eyes), and I will admit that I had no clue what a shallot was or what half the herbs looked like that some of recipes call for. And if you know G. Garvin, you know he loves using those shallots and fresh herbs. Now you should check me out easily able to identify and explain the uses and flavorings for certain items. G. Garvin really gets down! I seriously might have to check out the new cookbook before Valentine’s day.

Have you seen G. Garvin’s website? He’s such a cutie. And check out a few of his online recipes, although I will admit that the directions aren’t as well written as the ones in his cookbook.

7 thoughts on “Make It Super Simple with G. Garvin

  1. I have to delurk on the cookbook talk.

    I love cookbooks, but I haven’t picked up G. Garvin’s. I have to say, though, that my favorite TV chef right now is Rob Rainford of License To Grill on Discovery Home/Food Network Canada. He’s charismatic, funny and his grilled meals always look delicious.

    I’ve been cooking more vegetarian/vegan meals lately. I wanted to find healthier foods that were filling and actually had some flavor, and I’ve been very pleased with this relatively new book called Veganomicon, by Terry Romero and Isa Moskowitz.

    I also really love The Vegetarian Soul Food Cookbook, by Imar Hutchins and Dawn Marie Daniels.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for the recommendations from both the comments above and the blog topic. I have been looking all over in bookstores this side in Canada for good AA Cookbooks. I need to expand my cooking abilities from just being Southern African which i grew up learning to some Soul Food.

    Like

  3. Yes, thank you for the book recommendations. When I first started learning how to cook I would just go to the library and check out 10 cookbooks. One cookbook that I found using that method, is one that I still cherish to this day. It’s called The Best Kept Secrets to Healthy Cooking by Sandra Woodruff. I also use America’s Test Kitchen since they have a really great nacho and buffalo wing recipe.

    Like

  4. Gotta love a good-looking brother who can cook, dontcha? (smile). I have his first book too. Didn’t know he had a second one out. Thanks for the info. Oh, and I tried Garvin’s greens (with the shallots, turkey bacon and the wine, etc) on my 90-some year old, Miss-born granddad and he was like, “Girl, where did you learn how to cook greens like this?!” (LOL)

    Like

  5. I just love cooking; all of the recipes. The food is delightful and good for the soul. My family loves my presentaion and the food as well. I just want to take this moment to say thank you, thank you for the recipes and the new book is wonderful. Tonya aka cotton candy

    Like

  6. I just love cooking; all of the recipes. The food is delightful and good for the soul. My family loves my presentaion and the food as well. I just want to take this moment to say thank you, thank you for the recipes and the new book is wonderful. Tonya aka cotton candy

    Like

  7. I Just want to thank you for all of your wonderful recipes. And I thank GOD for your mother and family . Because otherwise this site would have not been possible.But with GOD all things are possible. So keep on doing what you do best as long as GOD allows.I will be enjoying your recipes.My family to yours. MAY GOD BLESS”

    Like

Leave a Reply

