Push (The Movie): Gabourey Sidibe

ATTENTION: See the latest movie updates by clicking HERE and/or HERE.

I just finished reading Push for my AfAm literature class. I heard the audiobook a few years ago and must admit that it was nothing like actually seeing the pain on the page. At one point I actually put the book down, but never doubted that I would make it to the end. From the start you just want to see Claireece “Precious” Jones triumph.

As I attempt to figure out what the focus of my research paper will be, I’ve started to search for interviews with Sapphire (unfortunately scholarly articles are limited). During my search, I found an update on the book’s film which is currently in production. I know I mentioned all this in a previous post, but I now have a photo and more information on the film’s most important character.

She almost didn’t go to the audition in September for the movie version of “Push,” a novel by the African-American poet Sapphire. She arrived late, as the casting people were getting ready to wrap up, to read for the starring role, that of an illiterate, abused teenager named Precious Jones in a story about incest, H.I.V. and the hope of redemption. And even though the casting search had gone on for months in audition rooms all across the country, she blew everyone away.

Ms. Sidibe cannot explain the wave of emotion she tapped into that day, in a performance that got her a meeting with the director, Lee Daniels, and the starring role in his movie less than a week later.

“I’m sad for her, so I was sad,” she said with a shrug the other day in her dressing room in the Brooklyn Municipal Building, where the movie was being filmed. She is not a Method actor, she said; she doesn’t “become” the character when she isn’t acting.

But there are ways that she can relate. Ms. Sidibe is larger than the typical starlet at the casting agency, and her skin is darker. When she was younger, she was teased about her appearance. More recently, when she hung out with her theater friends, some other girl, taller or skinnier, always got all the attention.

“I was comic relief,” she said. “The best friend.”

Now she is the star. She tells herself that fame isn’t guaranteed by doing one movie. She is, she said, level-headed that way.

(Read more . . .)

I even found a clip of Gabbie’s audition!

1/15/09 UPDATE: According to Uptown Flavor, Push will premiere at the Sundance Film Festival tomorrow. But if you’re like me, you’re still waiting to take a sneak peek at the movie trailer, right? Well, I can’t help you with that, but here’s just a little more about the film’s Sundance debut. Sorry! See my latest post on this topic.

Happy reading, ya’ll. 🙂

39 thoughts on “Push (The Movie): Gabourey Sidibe

  1. This is one of my all time favorite books and I can’t wait for the movie. At work we recommend this book to customers who usually read nothing but ‘urban lit’. We feel it is a good transition into more substantial reading while still focusing on subjects that they can relate to.

    Like

  2. Wow. She had me in tears. Please, please, please–I pray to the god of celluloid–don’t make the teacher be the white savior. Let this be Precious’s (and Gabby’s) movie!

    Like

  3. I was very surprised to learn that this book was being made into a movie.

    BTW, the teacher is played by Paula Patton, the black (or biracial?) wife of Robin singer Thicke.

    Like

  4. when i read push i was fithteen years old that book hade me thinkin wat if i was her it felt like i was with her like we share the same pain wanted 2 knon if we was wanted i felt everything n it hurt knowin the pain she went though

    Like

  5. i read this book about 7 years ago and it brought out so many emotions for me. as a victim of sexual abuse (not as severe as precious) the book took me back to the emotions that i had and it has helped me deal with what happened. it never leaves you but i does/can get better.

    Like

  6. I read this book about 4 days ago!!!! it is a great book remarkable teacher and Precious had the will to change to not be on welfare to not be consider stupid

    Like

  7. Wow, Gabbie will truly bring Precious to life. God bless her and I can not wait to see it on the screen. Break a leg precious Gabbie

    Like

  8. i’ve heard that it will the film, Push, will be debuting at the Sundance Film Festival from January 15-25, 2009. I am so excited I can hardly sit still. The reviews from Sundance are promising for those concerned with whether a film could do justice to the emotions evoked by turning pages. If anyone knows how to get a hold of the film, share the knowledge

    Like

  9. The film will be shown for the first time at Sundance on Jan 16.
    Sapphire told me.
    I’m so glad that Push has been made into a movie.

    Like

  10. Thanks for sharing this upcoming movie, I have been anxiously awaiting its arrival in theaters! The young actress Gabby Sidibe has stolen my heart! It hope I can see her upcoming works of quality soon. Thanks again for your wonderful work.

    Ar.
    Booklover NJ

    Like

  11. I actually read the book and it was really good. It opened up my eyes to how bad some people really have it. I am excited to see the movie and see how much of the book relates to the movie.

    Like

  12. I just saw the movie at Sundance last week. It was amazing. Very painful and sad, but extremely well done. Gabby’s performance should qualify her for an Oscar. I will be surprised if it doesn’t.

    Like

  13. Never heard of this book.
    Im hearing about it now bc of Sundace.
    The might O is behind it.
    Im gonna read the bok after I finish “Midnight” by Sis Souljah.

    Like

  14. I remember reading this book when I was about 14 years old. Well almost 15 years later it still moves me. It is among my favs. I know this movie is going to be awesome! I can’t wait to see Ms. Gabbie’s debut too.

    Like

  15. i read th ebook push years ago this is the only book that touched me to the point that i cried. i kept putting it down because i just wanted to hug precious and take her home with me.

    Like

  16. I haven’t read the book or watched the movie yet. I know how she feels because I wenr though the samething and I felt like noone loved me, but there was and that was god and my mama. I was so miserable and felt like everyone (boys) is out to hurt me. I was also pregnant with my father’s child, but I was so stressed that I had a miscarriaged.

    Like

  17. with tyler perry and lady o behind this movie project telling a story of so many young women in this world this movie hopefully will excell in hollywood and all over the world. good luck to g.sidibe in all future endeavers and thank you for showing the world your natural raw talent a true blessing from god

    Like

  18. The movie goes into theatres November 6th(for North America at least). I’m not sure about anywhere else though, sorry.

    I want to see this movie badly. The trailer made me cry :'(, so that just proves how good it’s gonna be.

    Like

  19. Has anyone heard anything about Colored girls who have considered suicide when the rainbow is enuff? I understand it’s going int production for a feature film. The book was excellent and the play was put together well. If there is any info I would love to hear.

    Like

  20. I read Push and it was beautiful. Claireece Precious Jones goes through so much and it hoorified me. I’m glad she overcame the pain and hurt over the years though. I can’t wait for Precious to come out in November.

    Like

  21. I also read the book PUSH when I was 15 yrs old. It was actually our reading assignment in high school. Just thinking about the book brings tears to my eyes. The book really put you in the mindset of Precious Jones! I never saw the movie yet, but I hope it does the book the deserve justice it does… Side note: Gabourey “Gabbie” Sidibe visually brings the image of Precious Jones to life. Thank GOD this movie now has a strong backing (Oprah and Tyler Perry) pushing for the film…

    Like

  22. This was one of the best books that I read, very graphic, easy to put yourself into each characters mind. I will be going to see this movie. I read the book in a few hours, I did not even eat until I was done

    Like

  23. Of all the children that I have encountered in the past few years, including my own teenagers, I have not met anyone that has had the kind of life that Precious had to deal with…..wake up young people and be grateful for what you have, where you are, and what you can change in your life that Precious could not……Pray daily!!!!!! I have not been able to complete the book because everytime I get to a part that I can only imagine happening to me, I start crying and feel somewhat grateful for my life……

    Like

  24. i read this book this summer and am anxiously awaiting the release at the theaters. i cried deeply and know i will cry watching the movie.

    Like

  25. ..that movie was wonderful, she is a wonderful actress and she played that role perfectly, I can watch this movie over and over and still want to cry.lol. Great Job Mammie

    Like

Leave a Reply

