She Wrote About Vampires (and Jesus too): Anne Rice

I had an opportunity to listen to a few podcasts of author interviews late this evening. Some were yawn worthy, but a couple held my interest. I enjoyed Anne Rice’s interview so much, that I decided to do a blog post on it. What do I know about her? Well, I read The Vampire Lestat sometime ago, but had to put it down for some reason–not that I didn’t enjoy what I’d read. I’m also a big fan of the Interview with the Vampire film (what’s up with me and sensitive vampire stories?) and I own the book Feast of All Saints. I guess I’ll get around to actually reading it in the near future.

Here’s a little bit from Barnes & Noble’s Anne Rice interview:

My first job was as a cafeteria waitress at a Walgreen’s cafeteria over the drugstore on Canal and Baronne Street in New Orleans when I was sixteen years old. What a plunge into reality. Canal Street was then the only downtown in town. And I was in fact a boarding school student and unbeknownst to the principal, Sr. Felix, took this job on weekends. When she found out, she did not approve of a St. Joseph’s Academy girl being a waitress. I was undeterred. I had discovered that I could turn time into money. I never forgot that lesson. The crashing boredom of childhood was over!”

I was employed from then on a shocking variety of low level jobs, including grill cook at a huge downtown cafeteria in San Francisco. I had to be there at 5:00 a.m., and once while I was en route on a bus, a drunken man fell asleep against me. The conductor had to wake him up for me to get off, poor guy. I think he’d staggered out of an after hours club. I was a crack waitress, a receptionist, a claims examiner, a theatre usherette in a big Cinerama house, and must have seen It’s Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World over one hundred times while standing there with a flashlight. My last job in the straight world — after motherhood — was that of proofreader for a law book company. I hated it. Then my devoted husband Stan, who was already teaching and had been for some time, said, ‘Stay home and write, I believe in you.’ And I wrote Interview with the Vampire.”

I was a painfully slow reader. Never really read a novel for pure pleasure until I was 35. It was Ordinary People by Judith Guest. Thought it very good.” (Read more of “Meet the Writer” at B&N. . . )

I wanted to add a YouTube clip of Rice, but as she chatted on about Jesus, someone walked up on me and asked if I’d found religion. I explained to this individual that Rice use to write  vampire stories until she scared herself back to church. That’s my interpretation anyway.

Happy reading, ya’ll.

6 thoughts on “She Wrote About Vampires (and Jesus too): Anne Rice

  1. I’ve read all of Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles and the Mayfair Witch series also. The only book that kind of “threw me” was The Violin. LOVE HER!!! I originally got started reading her books when she came to a book signing in a coffin. I thought, “What an odd woman!” I was forever hooked on Lestat. I was deeply saddened to hear that she stopped writing after her husband’s death.

    Like

  2. I have enjoyed some of her novels. I loved the Mayfair witches trilogy (The Witching Hour,Lasher,Taltos) and was amused with the erotic Beauty series as well. I am not a big Anne Rice fan, but she is a great writer. The last book I read by her was Merrick and I struggled with that but it is nice to read the podcast transcript about her.

    Like

  3. I had ‘Feast of All Saints’ around my home for YEARS before I finally read it. But it was definitely worth it and I’ve placed that book on my “permanent bookshelf” as in, on all future book purges, this book will never be given or sold away.

    LOL! I almost can’t beleive that she didn’t read a book for pleasure until she was 35! How did she live?!

    Like

  4. Well she focused on the ‘glorification’ of the ‘evil’ side of vampires. I read LA Banks and she took a different stance by making it about the battle between good and evil and added all of those wonderful spiritual components.

    Like

Leave a Reply

