Sapphire’s Push: Movie Updates

ATTENTION: See the latest update by clicking HERE.

Okay, I searched online for a few updates for Push’s Sundance premiere, which I heard has already garnered one standing ovation. So, again, I tried to dig up photos and reviews for people who are as interested as I am in this film. From what I’ve figured out so far, most of the current reviewers have never heard of Sapphires’ book before now. Shame. I know I should just wait for the movie to come to theaters, but if they can hype Notorious the way they did, why can’t I hype Push on my little ol’ blog?

This is what I’ve found so far:

Lee Daniels is anxious but not anxious.

He’s been to the Festival before, as producer of the 2004 film THE WOODSMAN, the Kevin Bacon film about a pedophile that is what they call in the industry “a tough sell.” This year he’s got PUSH, another harrowing story about an overweight, illiterate teenaged incest victim in Harlem.

Daniels is not anxious because he feels that his film will succeed. It will sell and if by some chance it doesn’t, he feels his financial backers will find it the right home. He says he’s bursting with pride over this film.

But however not-anxious Daniels may be, there’s still that necessity of subjecting your baby to the world’s judgment. He has a routine before his films are screened at this and other festivals: “I have a lunch or early dinner where I pray with my cast,” he says. “We pray and thank God for the fact that I was able to finish another one, and that they were a part of it. . . . And then I go out and I have my one cigarette a year and a glass of champagne.” No, he doesn’t sit through the screening with the audience. “At that point, what does it matter?” he says. “There’s nothing I can do about it and it’s torture if they’re not laughing at the right spots or not moved at the right spots and I haven’t hit my mark. It’s torture.”

In light of this, you will understand his advice for those in the Festival for the first time: “You’ve got to believe in the baby that you’ve given birth to. Ultimately, if I’m stuck with this movie in my DVD player and that’s it, I’m happy about it. I’m in love with every frame.” (Read more . . . )

Well, true, Mariah Carey and Lenny Kravitz were in town last night for the premiere of “Push: Based on the Novel by Sapphire.” I caught up with it this morning at a press screening and was unexpectedly moved: Lee Daniels’ has taken an Oprah-ready story and turned it into a real film. Most affecting is Gabourey Sidibe (in photo above) as Precious, the kind of character most movies would run screaming from or turn into a cartoon: a hulking, inarticulate mountain of a Harlem 16 year old with an emotionally abusive mom (Mo’Nique), sexually abusive dad (Rodney Bear Jackson), one child, and another on the way. The movie skirts being a chamber-of-horrors melodrama and an agenda-driven inspirational movie (once Precious lands in an alternative writing class headed by Paula Patton), but the script, the performances and especially Daniels’ smart, alert direction, grounding the film in real reactions, real speech patterns, keeps it honest. Mostly. Kravitz plays a male nurse in a few scenes and I was two-thirds of the way into a sequence where Precious visits a drab Noo Yawk social worker before I realized it was Carey. She’s surprisingly good (no, “Glitter” still isn’t forgiven) and Sidibe is better — an unforgettable presence as the kind of kid most of us look past on the street but who increasingly glows with inner life. (Read more . . . )

The first movie I saw today was Push, the story of 16 year old Clareece ‘Precious’ Jones (Gabourey Sidibe), an African American girl living in Harlem. Precious is fat, uneducated and pregnant with her second child. A second pregnancy, like her first, given to her by her rapist father. Her mother Mary (Mo’nique) emotionally and physically abuses her. Her school mates make fun of her and Precious has an existence where she feels worthless. After being kicked out of school, she joins an alternative learning program where she meets Ms. Rain (Paula Patton), her teacher that supports her. Precious, whenever she’s being abused or her mother is yelling at her that she’s stupid and will amount to nothing, dreams about happier places where she’s a superstar. These moments are rather funny yet sad at the same time. Push is an extremely emotional film backed by some wonderful acting, especially from Mo’Nique, who I think has given the best performance I’ve seen so far at Sundance.

The problems Precious faces are problems that face a lot of uneducated minorities, and even none minorities, today. Ones with family and education problems who find themselves with no place to go and nobody to trust. It’s an honest and painful look at a section of our society ignored by most. The movie also stars Mariah Carey as the welfare counselor. You may not recognize her at first because she wears no makeup throughout the picture. Her acting has improved quite a bit since Glitter, but man, she looked nothing like she does in her videos. She actually looked like a Frog brother from The Lost Boys. Push is definitely ‘R’ rated, with rape scenes, and more swearing than an Italian mob movie. I really enjoyed Push. I think it’s a movie that’s sometimes hard to watch, especially when you find out what happens to Precious and the challenges she faces in her life. Check it out if you ever get a chance (Source).

Variety film review.

Still waiting for the movie trailer! Happy reading, y’all.

23 thoughts on “Sapphire’s Push: Movie Updates

  1. It’s about all of the above. It’s about dealing with the harsh subject matter and the triumphs at the end of the story. However the reality is this, there are numerous young people in this world living this life everyday! I’m a teen bible study and Sunday School teacher and I’m reading this book to my students. Number one they need to know how truly blessed they are to not have to endure what so many other youth around the world unwilling have to. Two, my goal is to open their eyes to their peers and understand that maybe this is why they act out against them and rebel the way they do. Three, I want our priveledged teens to learn to not only pray for their fellow student but recognize that something is terribly wrong and make an effort to reach out to their own (teens, youth). The message, love and prayer will go alot further when it’s coming from their inner circle! Sad but true, this book/movie is reality for millions of youth around the globe!

    Like

  2. I have heard of the book but I have not read it yet. It is on my list to read. I might have to push it up so that I can watch the movie. I hate to watch movies before I read the book.

    Like

  3. I KNOW MISS GABY I MET HER THROUGH OUR MUTUAL AISHA..WE HAVEN’T SPOKE IN A MINUTE BUT I WISH U ALL THE BEST AND THIS IS JUST THE BEGINING KEEP RISING TO THE TOP.
    YOU GO GIRL!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: $3.60 · Sapphire’s Push awarded top prize at Sundance

  5. Since I heard about this movie, I’ve been trying to find out when it comes to theaters. Still can’t find an answer. Anyway, I will definitely be seeing this one. The story is extremely powerful, but it can also be viewed as a “risky” movie after such an amazing book. I am a strong supporter of movies that actually have a meaning. And Daniels is behind it, so that alone makes it worthwhile.

    Like

  6. Wow!!! I’m so excited about this movie now that I have heard about it. This book reminds of a time and a place because it was a right of passage for young girls in Jaimaica Queens area, Where I grew up, to read this book. I really want to know when this movie will be availabe for public viewing becuase i will be one of the first ones seeing it. Mercie bonje

    Like

  7. I.ve read Push a few years ago. And it touched me deeply. It was times that I had to put down the book just to keep from breaking down myself. The book was very well written, although sometimes hard to understand. ( Because of the way Saphire wrote it.) Me myself have been through sexual, verbal and emotional abuse. That’s why it touched me so deep. I am antisipating the movie, because I am so curious to get an actual visaul of what I’ve read. I pray for the real Precious. I pray that Allah guides her through life and give her peace.

    Like

  8. I am currently reading Push and I must say it is a very good book so far. I am anticipating th movie. I hope it will be as good as the book.

    Like

  9. My eyes filled with water as I watched the trailer this past Friday after work. I purchased the book Friday evening, and will more than likely be finished with it by the end of the day Monday. We must support this; the movie, as well as the book. Oh my, we all need to have a real discssusion about this one.

    Like

    • I just watched the movie trailer for the first time a few minutes ago and i was in tears as well lol! I’m ready to see the movie also b/c the book was very graphic with the happenings to her in the story which really made me feel sick to know that he started physically abusing her when she was just a baby.

      Like

  10. I can’t wait to see this one. I think it’ll be on of the best movies I’ve seen so far.

    I looked up the release date and it is going to be released the 6th of November.

    Like

  11. it will be a good movie i am so excited and i think it comes out sometime in january 2009 idk what day tho it will b all over the tv i am sure

    Like

  12. This book was great!!! Every moment i had different feelings,I wanted to cry then i wanted to hurt someone,then I was happy for her and what she was tryin to do with her life…I can not wait until this movie comes out!!!does anyone know when it will be out?

    Like

  13. havent read the book yet but really looking foward to it. my friend actually told me about it and i got really interested and looking foward to see the movie when it comes out.

    Like

  14. will the kid come out in a movie? i hope so push was a reat book and i liked the movie also it shows life that actually happens and its life but knowing it doesnt happen to one person but to many. let me know im reading the kid now and want to see the people and the scenary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

