Mississippi Goddam

Ok, I’m proud of the little video I made on my Mac. YouTube is hating. They won’t post my upload. Talking about some copyright stuff. But I don’t like their copyright options. I’m saying. I’ll pay .99 for the background song. That seems reasonable, but again, that’s not an option. Anyway, I found some alternative video upload sources and thanks to them, I am able to post this gem online. Enjoy it while it lasts.

Consider this my Black History Month montage to the beat of Nina Simone’s “Mississippi Goddam.” I listen to it more than I should on the iPod. I guess I listen to Nina Simone more than I should actually. I’m a late fan.

Happy reading, y’all.

4 thoughts on “Mississippi Goddam

  1. Unfortunaltely, the images shown here are all that most people will ever “know” of Mississippi.
    Along with the dark and ugly part that is always portrayed , there is a flip side of the coin.
    In my book Reflections of a Mississippi Magnolia-A Life in Poems. I attempt to give a positive glimpse into the southern way of life.

    Like

  2. My sister currently lives in Mississippi, and yes I have visited several times to visit her. I even enjoyed a few historic tours while there. Like yourself, the people that I spoke to along the way mentioned that Mississippi is not what it use to be. Isn’t that obvious? When I created this amateur video, I wanted it to be a reflection of the song lyrics and the things that were going on at the time (more or less). Wikipedia (not a scholarly source, but I like it) writes, “Mississippi Goddam is a song written and performed by United States singer and pianist Nina Simone. It was first released on her album Nina Simone in Concert which was based on recordings of three concerts she gave at Carnegie Hall in 1964.” I apologize if I didn’t reflect a better image of Mississippi, but how can we forget the state’s past? Should we just move on and only focus on how great Mississippi is today? Maybe so.

    Like

Leave a Reply

