Connie Briscoe: Sisters Sequel

USA Today reports on Connie Briscoe’s lastest release, Sisters & Husbands:

Fifteen years ago, Briscoe struck publishing gold with her debut, Sisters & Lovers. Like Terry McMillan with her 1992 sensation Waiting to Exhale, Briscoe introduced America to an invisible woman — people like Briscoe…

Sisters & Lovers went on to sell 750,000 copies. On June 2, Grand Central will publish the long-awaited sequel, Sisters & Husbands, with high hopes it will become a fixture in beach bags this summer. It’s not all happily ever after for Briscoe’s three fictional sisters, who live and love and bicker in the affluent, integrated suburbs of Washington, D.C., terrain the Washington native knows firsthand. There is Beverly, a journalist and serial runaway bride; unlucky-in-love Charmaine; and the seemingly perfect Evelyn, a married psychologist. In Husbands, the trio copes with cares and woes more commonly found on Wisteria Lane than in the housing projects of The Wire. Lawyer-husbands having midlife crises. Sassy spoiled stepdaughters. Ticking biological clocks. Sibling rivalry over $500 Prada handbags.

The big theme in Sisters & Husbands is marriage, or “how do you keep it alive and fresh?” It’s the question Briscoe asks in fiction, and in life. Married nearly a decade, she and her husband, Roderick — he runs after-school educational programs promoting digital skills — have two teenage children, a brother and sister they adopted at ages 6 and 8. She met him online at Match.com only to discover that his sister, Cheryl Woodruff, was a publisher who had released two of Briscoe’s paperback editions. (Read full article . . .)

Surprisingly, I haven’t read a single thing by Connie Briscoe. I don’t think I even own any of her books. Shame. Happy reading, y’all.

3 thoughts on “Connie Briscoe: Sisters Sequel

  1. I read the first book but it’s been such a long time that I can’t remember anything and would probably need to re-read it. I’m hesitant only because I found McMillan’s books to be….how do I say this….trifling, reinforcing some stereotypes of the strong black woman and glossing over important aspects for cheap thrills. Ha! So I hope that this would be something non-stereotypical but when the white publishing world touts a Black author I can’t help but think the reinforcement of supremacy can’t be that far behind.

    Like

  2. With the proliferation of ghetto lit, I forgot about good authors like Connie Briscoe, this this the sister that writes about middle class black woman in pg county. I get her confused with the sister passed away a couple years ago from brain cancer.

    Like

  3. I read P.G. County and didn’t mind all the theatrics, but I think I’ll pass on this one. The prequel to this novel wasn’t the best, but she was trying to sincerely present the lives and struggles of three sisters. But somehow the thought that she’s turned their lives into cheap fodder for her next beach novel leaves me a little dry. I can just imagine myself saying – “But Evelyn, would never say that!”. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

