Soulful Readers Book Group Information

So, I didn’t finish reading The Ecstatic. I most certainly could and should, but in the meantime I’ve purchased the next book on my reading list. In case you’re interested, here’s the latest information on my first Houston book group meeting. If you live in the area, consider joining us.

Date: Sunday, June 28, 2009
Time: 6:00pm – 8:00pm
Location: Dirk’s Coffee (Diedrich Coffee)
4005 Montrose Blvd
Houston, TX

The Prisoner’s Wife: A Memoir by Asha Bandele (Read an excerpt)

Many of us have wondered at the motivations of women who meet and marry men who are in prison for the long term or even life. What motivates them? How do they reconcile their feelings with the man’s past actions and with the fact that their married life together will be limited, for the foreseeable future, to occasional, brief visits? Asha Bandele is one such woman; at the age of 25, she fell in love with a man who was serving 20-years-to-life for murder. And yet she married him. In The Prisoner’s Wife, she reveals her reasons and shares with the reader the trials, tribulations, and yes, triumphs of a life shared with a man she only seldom sees.

Happy reading, y’all.

One thought on “Soulful Readers Book Group Information

  1. Hi, it is simply by coincidence that I stumbled upon your website. My name is Raven, and I’m 17 years old a recent high school graduate. Lately I have been interested in african american literature, and historical figures. I just simply don’t know where to start. Do you have any suggestions, I love you site. Thankyou

    Raven Dickerson

    Like

Leave a Reply

