Coming Soon: The Help

I know I have The Help listed as a recent book purchase, but I don’t really own it yet. I keep picking it up and putting it back down. I even found it at Sam’s for $13 and still couldn’t convince myself to buy it. I have, however, listened to an author interview and an excerpt from the book. I was intrigued…but I’m still dragging my feet about giving up the green for the hardback. Maybe I’ll read it for the holidays, especially since Hollywood is working on a film version. Can I consider that as my new motivation?

My boyfriend makes fun of me for my favorite line “you know that movie is based on a book.” Honestly, I’m more likely to see a movie if such is the case. Not to say that screenwriters don’t work just as hard as fiction writers…but I’m saying…

A recent read from the good folks at Shadow and Act revealed something I hadn’t considered (and didn’t know):

S&AEarlier today, as I looked over the box office charts for last weekend, I noticed that 10 out of the top 20 films are adaptations of novels! A whopping 50%!

A handful of the films still to be released this year are also adaptations of books; In fact, 6 of the remaining 15 studio-released pictures to be released this year are novel adaptations (about 40%) – Invictus, The Lovely Bones, A Single Man, Sherlock Holmes, Crazy Heart, & The Last Station; 1 is based on a Broadway musical, and another is a sequel. So, only 7 of the 15 films (less than half) still to be released are based on original screenplays.

And in coming years, several of the higher profile films in development are based on books, graphic novels, comic books, Broadway musicals, or are sequels/prequels. What’s happening to the original screenplay? And, if you’re a screenwriter, are you at all worried by this trend? (Read more…)

I thought “books turned movie” was a good thing, but I hadn’t imagined the other side. That said, here’s an excerpt on the latest book to follow the trend:

Chris Columbus’ 1492 Prods. has fast-tracked a screen adaptation of “The Help,” the bestselling Kathryn Stockett novel about African-American domestic servants and their wealthy white employers in Mississippi before the civil rights era…

Taylor got involved well before it became a literary sensation for Stockett, a first-time author who was reportedly rejected by 50 agents. Taylor grew up with Stockett in Mississippi — his mother inspired one of the Mississippi matriarchs in the novel — and was so helpful to the author that she gave him an early peek; an option was made well before the book came out. (Read more…)

I wanna read it. I wanna see it. Happy reading, y’all!

4 thoughts on “Coming Soon: The Help

  1. Yeah, I’m going to skip it. I’ve decided to skip the work of any white author who uses dialect to characterize the speech of Southern blacks (and forgets the linguistic quirks of Southern whites). Also I find it interesting that white people probably would not but a similar book written by a black author. Would that book be rushed to movie? I doubt it.

    Like

  2. This is on my list but I am very skeptical, mainly because I feel some kind of way about white authors who write of Black life. I did enjoy The Secret Life of Bees, though. If they make “The Help” into a movie, that would definitely get me to seriously consider reading it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

