Houston Public Library Account

Sometimes I feel like I’m one of the few people that actually checks out books from the library. At least that guarantees that the books I want will always be there. I can request a whole list of books through the Houston library’s website or get books from anywhere in the United States. Grad school taught me how. Ever heard of a little thing called Interlibrary Loan (ILL)? The library rocks. While most people seem to visit just to use the computers and internet, I’m still in there swiping my card for books and sometimes even videos. But the really great thing about “previewing” books at the library is that there’s always an option to buy (at a bookstore or online anyway).

It’s been a minute since I’ve read any fiction books though. I purchased The Help by Kathryn Stockett. Read a little…put it down a little…read a little more…and then return to my non-fiction library book collection. I’ve read a little bit of everything. Sometimes I get interested in a topic and just check out a bunch of books on it. In the past few months I’ve gone through dozens of cookbooks, history books, herb/garden books, creative writing books, astrology books, and fables/legends/tall tale books. Anything I even think about I just get on the library website and get to requesting. I’ve even explained this process to a few of the librarians–a job that supposedly requires a degree of Library Science (and my English degree doesn’t qualify me).

And now I’m back on my blog to talk about my discoveries. I even clicked around on some of my favorite blog links and am quite surprised that I’ve been so out of the loop. Time to get things updated around here…cause I’m still reading…and I’ve still got some things to say about it.

5 thoughts on “Houston Public Library Account

  1. I tell people all of the time that the library is my “Cheers”…where everybody knows my name. lol

    People ask me all of the time where they can get cheap books. I tell them “Go to the library where they’re free!”

    I read too much to purchase every book that interests me so I have a system that I developed years ago. I get it from the library first (I have a card for 3 different cities in the bay area so there is no possible way i wont e able to get it) and if I love the book, I add it to my collection. I’m even the president of my book club, but I very rarely purchase a book before having already read it, no matter how much someone else raves about. Saves me a lot of money.

    Like

  2. It’s funny that you say you feel you’re the only person that ever checks out books! I find the library a huge tease because I like to write in my books so I have to purchase them 🙂

    But you’re right, everytime I go there to write or brainstorm, there’s a line at the computers. I wonder does it ever occur to them that whatever they’re standing in line to look up is probably in a book just around the corner!

    Like

Leave a Reply

