Viola Davis: The Help & Eat, Pray, Love

Viola Davis is working her way through the books turned movie category. Maybe she’ll be my motivation to not only finish reading The Help (blame it on my library book collection), but to also take a greater interest in actually reading a few pages of Eat, Pray, Love–not necessarily the whole book. By the way, how does the potential story change when you switch those three words around? Pray, Eat, Love? Love, Eat, Pray? Pray, Love, Eat? Hmmm…

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve picked up Eat, Pray, Love at the bookstore and put it right back down. I’m certain that I will see the movie before I read a chapter of the book. Such a shame. On the topic of The Help movie, Entertainment Weekly writes:

Academy Award-nominated actress Viola Davis (Eat Pray Love, the best seven minutes of Doubt) is in talks to slide into the Dr. Scholl shoes of Aibileen, the weary and tough Mississippi maid at the heart of Kathryn Stockett’s best-selling novel The Help. According to Variety, Davis would star in DreamWorks Studios’ adaptation of the story about the long-ignored community of African American maids in pre-Civil Rights era Jackson, Miss. and the young white writer who pushes the women to tell their story. Emma Stone, so interesting and funny in the House Bunny, is in talks to play earnest local journalist Miss Skeeter. Tate Taylor (Pretty Ugly People), a childhood friend of Stockett’s and graduate of Ole Miss, adapted the screenplay and is set to take the helm.

With Davis and Stone possibly taking their places, on to the rest of the cast. I vote Jill Scott for the winningly cantankerous role of Aibileen’s best friend Minny. Maybe Judy Greer as the skinny and vile Miss Leefolt? Taraji P. Henson in flashbacks of Skeeter’s beloved childhood maid Constantine? Kristin Chenoweth for uncouth Celia Foote? Who is yummy and Southern enough to play Skeeter’s suitor Stuart?

I like that they made a few more casting options. Jill Scott is a yes for any film, movie, or tv role in my mind. I happened to come across an episode of Law and Order: SVU with Scott as a guest star a few weeks ago. Let’s just say I’ve been watching the show ever since. I’m still reading The Help, so when I finish I’ll return with my casting options…if the movie isn’t out already.

Do more reading, y’all.

2 thoughts on “Viola Davis: The Help & Eat, Pray, Love

Leave a Reply

