Terry McMillan: Book & Film Sequels

The buzz in the book world is the release of Terry McMillan’s Waiting to Exhale sequel, Getting to Happy. New information reveals that not only does the original book have a sequel, but the movie sequel is now also in the works. McMillian announced just days ago that she has completed the new script and 3 of the 4 actresses have already signed on for their former roles. I wonder who’s missing? Whitney maybe? Maybe. If you haven’t seen the excerpts posted in Essence magazine or on their online blog, check the link here. I can’t say that I’m too excited about what I’ve seen so far, but that doesn’t mean I won’t pick up the book…one of these days.

In the meantime, watch McMillan discuss the latest related news via the Fox 29 Philadelphia website:

Are there any other directors/producers available to make this film—beyond Tyler Perry? I guess we’ll see. More book news to come. We’re just getting warmed up.

Happy reading, y’all!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Terry McMillan: Book & Film Sequels

  1. Well besides Tyler Perry, there is the WTE Director Forrest Whittaker. He did a more than amazing job in the last go around. I had to read WTE for my Senior AP English Lit and Comp Class. I really opened my mind to literature and being a real man. I hope that I recieve some of that same great insight from Getting to Happy.

    Like

    • Hi Terry, miss you very much. I haven’t embrassed each other since your moms funeral. Love Always Angela (Lena’s daughter)

      Like

Leave a Reply

