Leaving Atlanta: Contributions Wanted $$$

Readers, take part in making Tayari Jones’ book Leaving Atlanta into a short film. In conjunction with Kickstarter.com, contributors can make donations that “will go towards equipment rental, props, wardrobe, set dressing, editing, and other production expenses.” You can even receive a personalized movie postcard, an autographed copy of Leaving Atlanta, and/or thanks on their website, amongst other things.

Leaving Atlanta is featured on my favorite books list. I’m excited to see what they’ll do with a project with so much potential. How about that teaser:

Learn more about your potential next read before the movie release:

It was the end of summer, a summer during a two-year nightmare. African American children around Atlanta were vanishing, and twenty-nine would be murdered by the end of 1981. Like all kids across the city, fifth-grade classmates Tasha Baxter, Rodney Green, and Octavia Harrison were discovering that back-to-school now meant special safety lessons, indoor recess, and being thrown into a world their parents couldn’t comprehend, one in which the everyday challenges of growing up were coupled with constant fear—and the news of the murders of one’s peers. (Read more . . . )

Happy reading, y’all!

4 thoughts on “Leaving Atlanta: Contributions Wanted $$$

  1. Hey! I see Leaving Atlanta up on your bookshelf! Thanks for posting about our fundraiser. I really feel like people are coming through and we are going to get this movie made. The story is important. So many people who live in Atlanta don’t know what happened to us. I breaks my heart, but I am glad to be in a position to help make it right.

    Like

  2. Echoing Tayari’s comments, LEAVING ATLANTA is a compelling and important story that must be told. We are both privileged and humbled to have this opportunity to initiate a dialogue about this terrible tragedy that some believe has gone unresolved for more than 30 years.

    Thank you for mentioning us on your site. It’s the generous support of friend’s like you that will make LEAVING ATLANTA the film a reality.

    Like

  3. I’m so excited that I finally had a chance to make a small donation myself. I’m just sorry that it’s taken so long for me to post them gem to my blog. 🙂

    Like

  4. I just finished reading Leaving Atlanta. I was born in 1988, so I don’t have a working memory of the the terrible crimes that took place from 1979 to 1981. However, I inquired with my Mom, and she had a very vivid memory of the news reports covering the story.

    Of course, I was saddened by the book, and angered when I did external research to find that while Williams is in prison for the crimes, there are still doubts if he is indeed responsible for all the murders.

    I think this book is a catalyst for important and much needed dialog surrounding our attention to our own children, and, the national attention dedicated to them when incidents of this sort, be they isolated or on a grand scale such as this one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

