Michael Oher: He Ain’t No Dummy

Michael Oher doesn’t seem pleased about being characterized as a black dummy in the film The Blind Side. And who would be okay with that? NPR posted the following brief excerpt from Oher’s biography, I Beat the Odds: From Homelessness to The Blind Side to Beyond (yeah, that title is a little long):

I felt like it portrayed me as dumb instead of as a kid who had never had consistent academic instruction and ended up thriving once he got it. Quinton Aaron did a great job acting the part, but I could not figure out why the director chose to show me as someone who had to be taught the game of football. Whether it was S.J. moving around ketchup bottles or Leigh Anne explaining to me what blocking is about, I watched those scenes thinking, ‘No, that’s not me at all! I’ve been studying — really studying — the game since I was a kid!’ That was my main hang-up with the film.

So, what are the other 271 pages about? According to the book summary: “heartache, determination, courage, and love.” I guess

Happy reading, y’all.

2 thoughts on “Michael Oher: He Ain’t No Dummy

  1. I heard Oher on NPR and was so impressed I put the movie on my rental list; not a big football fan, I wasn’t planning to see it. Also I just blogged about him. Now I’m not so sure I want to see the film–if I do I guess I’ll take it with a grain…thanks for the headsup.

    Like

  2. Check out the “Black Online News Network” (BONN) http://www.thebonngroup.com . BONN is the largest network of online news portals to date targeted to African Americans. Its current digital network consists of 100 unique and interconnected web sites covering a wide range of today’s hottest topics on the radars of African Americans worldwide.

    Like

Leave a Reply

