Teaser Tuesday: Mudbound by Hillary Jordan

Teaser Tuesday is something I found on another blog awhile ago. I thought it was a cute idea and decided to tweak it for myself. Long story short, I’m just gonna grab what I’m reading and share a quick passage:

I kept on the Atwoods, the Cottrills, and the Jacksons. The Jacksons looked to be the best of the bunch, even though they were colored. They were share tenants, not sharecroppers, so they only paid me a quarter of their crop as opposed to half. You don’t see many colored share tenants. Aren’t many of them have the discipline to save for their own mule and equipment. But Hap Jackson wasn’t your typical Negro…

Happy reading, y’all.

2 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Mudbound by Hillary Jordan

  1. My book club almost chose this book this year, but it didn’t make the cut. I’m interested to hear what you have to say about it. Happy reading!

    Deirdre

    Like

  2. mudbound is a is a great look at America & it’s attitudes toward race right after WWII. In my opinion Jim Crow was at its height despite the hippocritical “huh what” attitude America has after the war. How could our attitudes toward our own be so full of hatred after winning a war & chastizing Germany for its views.

    Like

Leave a Reply

