Amandla Stenberg: Rue Reads

During a recent Publisher’s Weekly interview, Amandla Stenberg, the young lady casted as Rue in the upcoming Hunger Games movie, highlights her passion for reading. Here’s an excerpt:

Did you read The Hunger Games in one night?
I think it took me about two nights to finish it. I couldn’t put it down, and my nose was in the book the whole time. It’s such a page turner, and Suzanne Collins’s writing is so vivid. Everyone was wondering what I was reading. After I finished it, my dad took it, and then my mom.

How many times have you read the series?
I’ve read the first book at least five times! I never get tired of it. 

What other good books have you read recently? 
I’m always reading a book! Right now I’m reading Cleopatra’s Moon. I cannot put it down. It’s about Cleopatra Selene, who was Cleopatra’s only daughter. It’s a very interesting tale about how she loses everything. As soon as I finish Cleopatra’s Moon, I’m going to get Legend by Marie Lu. I’ve heard a lot about it. I also read the Maze Runner series, another post-apocalyptic story. I’ve read the Mortal Instruments series, I was obsessed with those. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith is one of my favorites. Even though it doesn’t have any monsters or crazy fantasy in it, it’s such a raw story, and I can really relate to the characters. I think it’s a beautiful story. And I read Forge by Laurie Halse Anderson for my summer project for school.

I love to see young adults who are avid readers. I hope you picked up a new recommendation from Stenberg’s mentions. Happy reading, y’all!

One thought on “Amandla Stenberg: Rue Reads

  1. Funny you post this. I’ve followed your blog for sometime now and you rarely post about children’s literature. Funny I didn’t like any of her recommendations. Keep keeping us in the know; it’s hard to find black book news.

Leave a Reply

