B. McFadden: Sugar & Gathering of Waters

I finally completed a book that’s sat on my shelf for sometime. I always wanted to read it, but never seemed to get around to doing so. Well, it definitely didn’t fall anything short of excellent. Here’s a short excerpt and word from McFadden for your consideration:

[“I write to breathe life back into memory”] means that I’m committed to writing fiction with a AA historical perspective. I think this is needed because so much of “our” history has been ignored and/or altered. — Bernice McFadden

McFadden’s Reason for Writing: Sugar started as a poem back in the late 80’s. Eventually, I expanded the poem into a short story. I was writing short stories back then. I had no idea that I had an entire novel in me. When I felt I was ready to make the leap from short fiction, it was SUGAR that begged me to tell her story and so I did. I do think that many parts of the novel were fostered by stories I’d heard told around my grandparent’s dining room table (Source).

Excerpt: So she leaves the drawers to soak for another hour or so, while she does her duty as Mrs. and pleases her man, because she can function on three hours of sleep. Keeping her man well fed and fucked are number one priorities that she can’t slack on because you can never know when a woman dressed to the nines with a blond wig, long legs and a high fat ass that should have been equal to you in almost every way may decide to hop on the first southbound Greyhound and end up looking at you through whispering letters on a dusty storefront window. (Read more . . .)

McFadden’s writing kept my television turned off and my cell phone on vibrate. I enjoyed the novel so much that I decided to pick up the author’s latest release:

Gathering of Waters is a deeply engrossing tale narrated by the town of Money, Mississippi–a site both significant and infamous in our collective story as a nation. Money is personified in this haunting story, which chronicles its troubled history following the arrival of the Hilson and Bryant families. Tass Hilson and Emmett Till were young and in love when Emmett was brutally murdered in 1955. Anxious to escape the town, Tass marries Maximillian May and relocates to Detroit. Forty years later, after the death of her husband, Tass returns to Money and fantasy takes flesh when Emmett Till’s spirit is finally released from the dank, dark waters of the Tallahatchie River. The two lovers are reunited, bringing the story to an enchanting and profound conclusion. Gathering of Waters mines the truth about Money, Mississippi, as well as the town’s families, and threads their history over decades.

Back to reading, y’all!

8 thoughts on “B. McFadden: Sugar & Gathering of Waters

  1. The sequel to Sugar is just as good and it’s called This Bitter Earth. It’s worth reading and it wraps up the story from where Sugar left off. And McFadden is just an amazing writer. Just great.

    Like

  2. I am a huge Bernice Mccfadden fan. I’ve just finished A Gathering Of Waters and Glorious. I loved how she used spirit of the town to tell the story. The sweetness of the budding romance of young Tass and Emmitt. Glorious i liked the mixing of actual historical events in Black History and fiction. I’m now reading Nowhere is a Place. I’m a Bernice Mccfadden fan for life. Next I hope you do a post on Tayari Jones. Peace and Blessings.

    Like

  3. Just finished Bernice Mcfadden’s Nowhere Is A Place. Good read. She is just everything. Such a great storyteller. Naysue do you think J. california Cooper will write something else she my other favorite author?

    Like

Leave a Reply

