Khaled Hosseini: ATSS

I hated The Kite Runner’s narrator. He let his friend down. Didn’t step up when he needed him most, and while he battled with the regret, I never forgave him. In my eyes, there was no redemption, no matter what he did in the final pages. Strangely enough, I hated the narrator, but enjoyed the book. How often does that happen?

By the time I finished Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini had just published his second title, A Thousand Splendid Suns. It’s taken me five years to get around to reading it. In a past interview, Hosseini discussed his inspiration for his sophomore bestseller:

Almost as soon as I had finished “The Kite Runner,” I knew I wanted to write a second book, and I knew I wanted to write about women. Because I had gone to Afghanistan in March of 2003 and seen firsthand the aftermath of the war there, heard so many stories about what happened to women, the tragedies that they had endured, the difficulties, the gender-based violence that they had suffered, the discrimination, the being barred from active life during the Taliban, having their movement restricted, being banned essentially from practicing their legal, social rights, political rights. I felt it was an outrage and I felt it was a very important story. And when I was in Kabul in 2003 I heard many personal stories about women, and sort of eventually over a couple of years those voices coalesced into a pair of characters. And I sat down finally with the story in hand and wrote “A Thousand Splendid Suns.” (Read more . . .)

We’ll see how loveable these characters reveal themselves to be. Happy reading, y’all.

4 thoughts on “Khaled Hosseini: ATSS

  1. I was in a crazy mind frame when I watched the movie. Talk about making crying ugly face. I weep the young boy who was betrayed by his best friend. That movie to my surprise was excellent. Did’nt read the book but loved the film.

    Like

  2. See, I hated the movie, so I had the ugly face for a different reason! Lol

    And I’ve been warned to have the tissues ready for the second book. We shall see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

