Zane’s Addicted: Film Adaptation

According to a few blogs and websites, casting is complete for the film adaptation of Zane’s first novel, Addicted. Shadow and Act reports that Nia Long was originally set for the lead role, but has since been replaced by Sharon Leal, of Tyler Perry film fame. The rest of the cast currently includes Borris Kodjoe, Tasha Smith, and William Levy–who also starred in VH1’s Single Ladies and will star as Christian Gray in the Fifty Shades adaptation.

For successful African-American businesswoman Zoe Reynard, finding the pleasure she wants, the way she wants it, is not worth the risk of losing everything she has: marriage to the man she has loved since childhood, a thriving company, three wonderful children. But Zoe feels helpless in the grip of an overpowering addiction…to sex. Finding a compassionate woman therapist to help her, Zoe finally summons the courage to tell her torrid story, a tale of guilt and desire as shocking as it is compelling. From the sensitive artist with whom she spends stolen hours on rumpled sheets to the rough and violent man who draws her toward destruction, Zoe is a woman desperately searching for fulfillment — and something darker, deeper, and perhaps deadly.

I read Addicted when it was originally released and felt it needed more editing, including plot and character development. Understandably so, it was Zane’s first book and self-published. I later read Nervous and felt her writing had come quite a long way. That time around she was also wise enough to hire a professional editor (or so the acknowledgements said). I thought Nervous might have been a better selection for film development–it’s practically the same story–but I’m sure it’s not as popular as Addicted. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a fan of Showtime’s Sex Chronicles either, but I still look forward to seeing what they’ll do with Addicted–even if it does go straight to video.

Happy reading, y’all.

2 thoughts on “Zane’s Addicted: Film Adaptation

  1. I actually read this book. I never thought they would make a movie. I like Boris Kodjoe but i will probably skip this. I think because of the fifty shades of grey popularity Zane feels she’s got to step it up. Even though she was doing this genre of writing before the author of fifty shades of gray. I am not a fan of Zane’s work. But each to his own.

    Like

  2. I can’t say that I’m a fan of Zane’s either, honestly. I’ve read two books by her and considered a third only because my mother recommended it. I didn’t get into 50 Shades of Gray either, nor do I read much erotica.

    Like

Leave a Reply

