Tuesday Teaser: I Am Legend

There’s something about seeing the creativity that it takes to turn words on paper into something even more magical on the big screen. Of course, there are times when movie adaptations fail miserably, but there are other times when the movie version takes the book to a totally new level. Such is the case with Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend. I began reading and foolishly expected Will Smith and a dog. Instead I found a horny, depressed, alcoholic white man. But hell, if everybody in the world turned into vampire-zombies, I think I’d be a horny, depressed, alcoholic myself. Here’s this week’s Tuesday Teaser:

I Am Legend by Richard MathesonA sound of helpless terror filled his throat. He didn’t want to die. He might have thought about it, even contemplated it. But he didn’t want to die. Not like this. Now he saw them all turn their white faces at the sound of the motor. Some more of them came running out of the open garage and his teeth ground together in impotent fury. What a stupid, brainless way to die!

Now he saw them start running straight toward the station wagon, a line of them across the street. And; suddenly, he knew he couldn’t stop. He pressed down on the accelerator, and in a moment the car went plowing through them, knocking three of them aside like ten-pins. He felt the car frame jolt as it struck the bodies. Their screaming white faces went flashing by his window, their cries chilling his blood.

Two other adaptations were made of this book, 1964’s The Last Man on Earth and 1971’s The Omega Man. I think Will Smith’s version is the only one I need to familiarize myself with for now.

Happy reading, y’all.

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Teaser: I Am Legend

  1. I remember the 70’s Omega Man with Charleston Heston. I remember the love scen between him and Rosalind Cash. I was young but I remember being intrigued with their interracial love scenes.. I saw the Will Smith film it was pretty good. You are right a lot of books don’t transfer well to film but these did ok.

    Like

Leave a Reply

