Tuesday Teaser: Yes, Chef

I noticed that I didn’t do a Tuesday Teaser for my past three books! What a shame that is, especially since they all featured excerpts worthy of note. Here’s a teaser from Marcus Samuelson’s Yes, Chef.

Yes, Chef

Today in the dead of the night when I should be sleeping, I sometimes imagine the breath of the woman who not only gave me life, but delivered me from death. I sometimes reach into that tin by my stove and take a handful of berbere [a red-orange powder that’s a mix of garlic, ginger, and sundried chili], sift it through my fingers, and toss it into the pan. I watch my wife cook and I imagine that I can see my mother’s hands. I have taught myself the recipes of my mother’s people because those foods are for me, as a chef, the easiest connection to the mysteries of who my mother was. Her identity remains stubbornly shrouded in the past, so I feed myself and the people I love the food that she made. But I cannot see her face.

And I’m still in the beginning stages on this book, so I better get moving. Happy reading, y’all!

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Teaser: Yes, Chef

  1. I just read this recently myself, and enjoyed it very much. I like how he braided his personal life and his professional life into one narrative strand. Also loved how he discussed race issues that’ve impacted him in a straight-on manner. And how he didn’t flinch from relating times when he screwed up pretty badly; this obviously wasn’t just a promo piece to fill up his fan club.

    I hope he writes another memoir in ten or twenty years; I’d definitely buy it.

    Angie

    Like

  2. The Tuesday teaser from Chef Samuelson is eloquent and poignant. It is very touching. I feel his longing to say connected to his mother. Simply beautiful sentiments. Thanks Naysue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

