Return to Fiction

Been such a long time. Over a year to be exact. I wouldn’t say that I’ve stopped reading because something like that would be unimaginable. I just don’t read fiction like I use to. I’m even ashamed to say that I’ve started several fiction books and put them down unfinished. I don’t know much about new releases or book news either. It’s a sad state of affairs.

But the good thing is, I have pre-teen students who harass me about reading. They ask me everyday why I haven’t finished Divergent and why I haven’t started Uglies. They tell me about their books and I watch as they bring countless paperbacks into my classroom eager to read given a moment’s chance. Even my family has asked about what I’m reading and I often rattle off some cookbook, self-help, or non-fiction title. Well, recently, a friend of mine mentioned that she planned to read 12 books in 3 months. I told her I’d turn off the television and join her for the challenge. Let’s see if I can keep my word. Of course, the hard part (besides the watching the idiot box and getting off the phone) is choosing what to read. I can never decide! I don’t even think I want to bother with the books I put down, but I feel kinda obligated.

I made a few updates to the blog for the sake of motivation. My iPad is fully loaded with tons of books. We shall see if I can keep up with this 3-month commitment. Send a kind word if you’re still out there.

Happy reading, y’all.

6 thoughts on “Return to Fiction

  1. Glad you’re back! I miss your recommendations. I have gone through the phase you are describing: did fiction for DECADES; then…………….turned to history and current events.

    Glad to hear you’re alive and kickin’- good luck with the challenge!

    Like

  2. So glad to see you’re back! The Good Lord Bird, I’ve heard, is really good. I’m trying to plow my way through Americanah.

    Like

  3. I hit a nonfiction spurt. It lasted several years! But I see over in the left sidebar that you’re still keeping your finger on the pulse of things. I started “Same Kind of Different as Me” and couldn’t get into it. How are you liking it?

    A copy of “Red Now and Laters” is on it’s way to me! Looking forward to reading that one. It should be pretty relatable.

    Like

  4. Yup! Last night I fell asleep with a fiction book in hand for a change. “Same Kind of Different as Me” isn’t so bad, seems a little young adult though. I considered reading “The Good Lord Bird,” since I’ve heard so many positive reviews. I just don’t know if I’m interested in reading another book related to slavery. Seems like there are quite a few recent releases that revolve around that topic.

    Thanks for the positivity, y’all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

