Tea Cake Made Me Do It: Their Eyes Were Watching God

ealyeyeswatching

I’ve attempted to read Their Eyes Were Watching God (TEWWG) numerous times through the years. In a number of ways, I just don’t think I was ever really ready–as a reader or as a woman. However, this time around, I finished the book in one sitting. Sure, my inspiration was seeing Michael Ealy play Tea Cake in the film adaptation with Halle Berry, but I just had to see if Tea Cake was as sexy a literary character as the movie portrayed him to be. And although my answer is not so much, I can admit that I finally completed this classic work.

Like any classic book, through the years TEWWG has seen many changes in its cover art. Instead of writing a review, I thought I’d focus on the visual presentation of the book instead.

Screen Shot 2014-04-27 at 8.49.48 PM Screen Shot 2014-04-27 at 8.49.35 PMScreen Shot 2014-04-27 at 8.50.01 PM

Screen Shot 2014-04-27 at 8.47.19 PM

If you’ve never seen the full-length movie, you might want to check out the YouTube clip below. Happy reading, y’all!

One thought on “Tea Cake Made Me Do It: Their Eyes Were Watching God

Leave a Reply

