Toni Morrison: Chipotle Cups

A Facebook friend of mine posted that she is disappointed that Chipotle didn’t feature any Hispanic authors for their new selection of  paperbag/cup readings. I commented that it might be a good thing since, after all, I don’t want to read a Toni Morrison story while I’m doing my Popeye’s or KFC fingerlickin’. Low and behold, no sooner did I say mention her name that I found her story on the side of what? A Chipotle cup!

Morrison Chipotle Cup

“Two-Minute Seduction” by Toni Morrison

I took my heart out and gave it to a writer made heartless by fame, someone who needed it to pump blood into veins desiccated by the suck and roar of crowds slobbering or poisoning or licking up the red froth they mistake for happiness because happiness looks just like a heart painted on a valentine cup or tattooed on an arm that has never held a victim or comforted a hurt friend. I took it out and the space it left in my chest was sutured tight like the skin of a drum.

As my own pulse failed, I fell along with a soft shower of rain typical in this place.

Lying there, collapsed under trees bordering the mansion of the famous one I saw a butterfly broken by the slam of a single raindrop on its wings fold and flutter as it hit a pool of water still fighting for the lift that is its nature. I closed my eyes expecting to dissolve into stars or lava or a brutal sequoia when the famous writer appeared and leaned down over me. Lifting my head he put his lips on mine and breathed into my mouth one word and then another, and another, words upon words then numbers, then notes. I swallowed it all while my mind filled with language, measure, music, knowledge.

Find out more about the inspiration for these cups and read the stories from other featured authors at Vanity Fair. And get to smackin’ on that burrito bowl with the $2 guacamole add-on. Do it for Toni. Happy reading, y’all.

 

2 thoughts on “Toni Morrison: Chipotle Cups

Leave a Reply

