Cookbook Recommendations

Last Thursday I entered my department’s chili cookoff and won! My fiesta chili made with corn, ground turkey, red kidney beans (amongst other things) and sprinkled with a little cheese can’t be beat. Of course my mother had to add a touch of hate by mentioning that just a few years ago I couldn’t get past burning rice. Look at me now though–winning small-time cooking competitions and everything! With that said, I dedicate this post to the cookbooks that inspire me to culinary greatness. Click the covers for more information.


Below you’ll find a few photographs based on the recipes discovered in these books. These are old pictures, since I don’t cook much in grad school, but you’ll get the point.

Fully loaded nachos (via America’s Test Kitchen)

Coconut Curry Chicken (via Chicken)

Enchiladas (via Betty Crocker)

Smothered Chicken (via Healthy Cooking)

Roasted Short Ribs, Goat Cheese
Mashed Potatoes, & Sauteed Green Beans (via G. Garvin)

Rajin Cajun Pasta (via Healthy Cooking)
One of the boyfriend’s favorites . . .

Turkey chops, collard greens,
and sweet potato casserole (via G. Garvin)

Chicken bowtie pasta (via G. Garvin)

Shrimp Egg Foo Yung (via Healthy Cooking)

Buffalo Wings (via America’s Test Kitchen)

Jerk Chicken Salad (via Healthy Cooking)

Now that I’ve made myself hungry, please feel free to offer any suggestions concerning your favorite cookbooks. I’m always looking to add something new to the collection.

Happy cooking ya’ll.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

8 thoughts on “Cookbook Recommendations

Add yours

  1. I still 1) make really good chicken wings and 2) eat chicken wings once a week. I love wings, but you know that already.

    Like

  2. Thanks to G. Garvin, the turkey chops, greens and sweet potato casserole is a meal I’ve prepared a number of times. My guys can’t get enough of it. That chicken bowtie pasta looks like a winner too.

    Like

  3. omg those hot wings look amazing! recipe?
    cooking for two is an excellent book because it has great healthy recipes and it encourages people to use less to waste less.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑